Amon Amarth - Twilight of the Thunder God (2008)
©Metal Blade Records


  1. Twilight of the Thunder God (4:08)
  2. Free Will Sacrifice (4:08)
  3. Guardians of Asgaard (4:23)
  4. Where is Your God? (3:11)
  5. Varyags of Miklagaard (4:18)
  6. Tatterd Banners and Bloody Flags (4:30)
  7. No Fear for the Setting Sun (3:54)
  8. The Hero (4:04)
  9. Live for the Kill (4:11)
  10. Embrace the Endless Ocean (6:44)

Amon Amarth have never failed to impress me. At the time being, they are probably the best Death Metal band from Sweden, with Dark Tranquillity and Arch Enemy not too far behind. I'll be blunt and straightforward and say that I enjoyed this album a Hell of an amount more than I did with "With Oden On Our Side". Not to say that "With Oden..." wasn't good, because it was fucking killer; but this time, these Viking Swedes have added more progression in their song structure with "Twilight of the Thunder God" without at all drifting off their path which they've made signature to their sound.

"Twilight of the Thundergod" is just as melodic as ever with those trademark Amon Amarth riffs, speedy drums and the deepest growls from the bowels of Hell, it sums up everything that Swedish Death Metal should sound with no room for fucking around. The amount of catchy parts in this album is endless. The whole time you listen to it, you'll be tapping your toes until they bleed. Amon Amarth is not one to use odd time-structures and relentless blast beating. No, what this group does is throw a heavy as Hell melodic riff in your face and structure it heavier and heavier for each song. As Death Metal as it is, it's still completely user-friendly and should appeal to most metalheads, if not all.

If I were to complain about anything on "Twilight of the Thundergod", I'd say that it's a little on the short side. Almost as soon as it starts, it's over, with you wanting a shitload more. Still, despite that one complaint, you can't go wrong at all with "Twilight..." if you've been an abid Amon Amarth fan since their debut "Once Sent From the Golden Hall". They're only getting better with age.

Best tracks: Twilight of the Thundergod, Varyags of Miklagaard, The Hero, Live for the Kill.



blog comments powered by Disqus
Make a Free Website with Yola.