Cynic - Traced in Air (2008)
©Season of Mist


  1. Nucn Fluens (2:55)
  2. The Space for This (5:46)
  3. Evolutionary Sleeper (3:34)
  4. Integral Birth (3:52)
  5. The Unknown Guest (4:12)
  6. Adam's Murmur (3:28)
  7. King of Those Who Know (6:08)
  8. Nunc Stans (4:12)

Cynic has been sleeping and I am afraid they hit the snooze one too many times. Over a decade has passed since the band from Florida, U.S., released an album. Before I get into this review let me declare that Dominic Cifarelli already made a fabulous concept (solo project), The Chronicles of IsrafelStarborn Tome I, similar to this style in 2007. What does that have to do with Cynics Traced In Air? See for yourself ( Please do not mistake that Cynic’s sound, from vocals (for the most part) to the style guitar riffs, drumming and time signatures, is not 100% fresh and original. It has already been created and released. Props to Dom!

Traced In Air is exceptionally performed and produced. It sounds spectacular! It is extremely clean, overflowing with soothing and subtly aggressive elements. Instrumentally speaking, a listener could not ask for more. If you are looking for clean/rough/harmonized vocals, this album has it.  Smart guitar riffs/rhythm/solos? It has it. Clever lyrics? It has it! This album is a great catch for anyone who has an appetite and appreciation for progressive rock/metal.

I really have no complaints with the album. Everything is right where it should be. The only thing that bugs me is that sometimes the clean vocals, harmonized with the mild digitally enhanced higher pitched vocals, gets a little monotonous. They appear on every track and sometimes I found myself questioning whether the songs have actually changed. Other than that, there is really no bone to pick. The harmony of the several vocal styles is pretty cool and effective. 

I really enjoy this release. The tracks really stay with you and their replay value is high (take Evolutionary Sleeper for example). The more I listen to it the more I love it. Those who enjoy Between The Buried And Me songs, particularly the softer moments, should not miss this release.  As I said, this sound has already been created (and in my opinion, superior). I’m not saying that you should not check Traced In Air out. DO IT! You’ll have a great time. Just be sure pay a visit to The Chronicles of Israfel out of respect. Dominic certainly deserves it.

On the Tuff Scale, ‘Traced In Air’ gets a 2 ----- TUFF!!

*The ‘Tuff Scale’ is not a rating. It is used as a simple grade of aggression presented by the music reviewed.



blog comments powered by Disqus
Make a Free Website with Yola.