Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance (2006)
©Peaceville Records


  1. Leaders (2:40)
  2. Deliberation (3:59)
  3. Soil's Song (4:12)
  4. My Twin (3:41)
  5. Consternation (3:50)
  6. Follower (4:45)
  7. Rusted (4:21)
  8. Increase (4:20)
  9. July (4:45)
  10. In the White (4:53)
  11. The Itch (4:20)
  12. Journey Through Pressure (4:20)

Alright, so this is way past the time I was supposed to write this. In fact, this was originally going to be my first review. But see; my forgetfulness has come to this. I was basically told that "The Great Cold Distance" is right up my alley. It sure is. I love every single song on the album. It is also been described as Katatonia's most dynamic album to be released.

Vocalist Jonas Renkse explained on the Katatonia website that "The Great Cold Distance" is “A distance necessary to journey through the corridors of human vexation. While embracing this album one must know that it will only help to increase the coldness between us. It's a devious life. And this is a soundtrack to it." It is indeed very cold.

"In The White" stands out the most in my opinion. The lyrics are more unique compared to the ones in the other tracks. The song is about loneliness and describes a great cold distance between what sounds like someone that would make them complete. They've always been searching and waiting for this person, but things are changing and it's making it the most difficult thing to find. Life is unfair and it doesn't wait for you to find what you want.

The haunting imagery, such as "a rush through the rusted veins" (In the song "Rusted") dark tones and beautiful, gloomy melodies are what make "The Great Cold Distance" so expressive. The statement that Katatonia makes is definitely something to look deep into. The best kind of music is the type that makes you think.





blog comments powered by Disqus
Make a Free Website with Yola.