Sordal - In Fort Knox With A Penny

©M.T.G Records



  1. World At My Feet (5:38)
  2. Cobblestone of Babylon (3:53)
  3. Boy & Girl (3:51)
  4. Do You Fear My Head? (3:35)
  5. Larger Than Life (3:58)
  6. Soulfinder (4:07)
  7. Airplane (3:51)
  8. Moving Clouds (4:10)
  9. A Little Blue Bike (4:21)
  10. Bliss (3:44)
  11. The Great Escape (4:13)
  12. Goin' Home (6:25)

I love this album, but I have some mixed feelings about it; so mixed that I'm finding it very difficult to explain what it is that makes me feel this way. There are a few songs in the album that I feel uncertain about because there's sort of a radio sound to them. I don't know how else to describe what I'm trying to say, so I'll give you an example. When I got to the first track "World At My Feet", as soon as those drums and guitar started I automatically thought of John Mayer or Jack Johnson. Somehow it has something that I can't seem to put my finger on. The same goes for "Do You Fear My Head?" The verses are beautiful, but the chorus sounds like David Grey or something similar. It really bothers me trying to explain this and it surprises me since it's definitely not the crap that's being played on the radio these days.

I really enjoy this release. Stein Roger Sordal not only performs vocals and guitars, but also mellotron, bells, piano, bass and the oberheim and hosts many guests whom play several different instruments. It's pretty amazing. I wouldn't say this album is Metal at all. It's more Progressive/Indie Alternative, but I decided to review it because it was recommended and since this project is of Green Carnation's former bassist/guitarist, I was quite interested to hear his solo work. It's obviously a very different and appealing side of him. 

The music is extremely easy on the ears. I particularily love "Airplane and Moving Clouds". What's great about this album is the cozy and pleasant instrumentals and vocal harmonies. I really love that there's a female vocalist featured in Sordal's work. Anne Marie Almedal's voice really adds elegance and charm to the tracks. I've particularly noticed this in the country-tinged track "Boy & Girl". I also think Stein has a very unique voice as well. This release further proves his ability to be a lead vocalist as he did when Green Carnation's "The Burden Is Mine... Alone" was released.

Overall I wouldn't describe the tracks as bitter-sweet as I did for Green Carnation's "The Acoustic Verses". I would eliminate the bitter part and say that this is simply sweet. "In Fort Knox With A Penny" is definitely worth picking up.


blog comments powered by Disqus
Make a Free Website with Yola.